Ebay Account Verification - yernadop again - Wake Up!
This morning I received another “EBay Account Verification” scam message. And again, “yernadop” was behind this one (see my first post on this subject: here). This time he used http://infinitymicrocomponents.com/ to anchor the verification pages. Within 2 minutes after opening the page, I had sent a notification to spoof@ebay.com where one is supposed to report those kind of scam messages. About 2 minutes later I called the owner of the web site (who’s phone number was conveniently posted on the “Contact Us” page). Some woman answered and confirmed that I had indeed reached “Infinity Micro Components”, however she did not have a clue what I was talking about when I told her that her web server was hijacked and being abused. After 5 minutes of trying to explain it to her, I decided to send them email and strongly suggest to shutdown the web server or remove the pages in question.
A few minutes after hanging up the phone, I stumbled over a WS_FTP.LOG file in a directory that was used by the scammer. Interestingly enough it shows activity over the whole year and where the scammer placed false “Account Verification” pages (www.luckymv.com, www.trackitsolutions.com, www.planetamultimedia.com, etc.) - the list goes on and on. Some of them are still active.
I thought that this would be valuable information for ebay, however when I sent it to the same spoof@ebay.com address, I received a notification that my message was not received by ebay, because it did not happen to be a “forwarded message”.
Bummer! Here I sit with evidence of other spoof places and gullible people are getting ripped off and ebay does not offer a way for me to report this? Sad … somebody at ebay, please, wake up and provide a way where this information can be submitted. If you’re interested, that is …
PS: It’s also good to see that the “Account Verification” page on Infinity Micro Components has been shut down earlier today …
Comments(2)
This Saturday I converted one of my old PCs into the new server for www.kahunaburger.com. If you’re a regular visitor and have not noticed any changed behaviour of the site, then I guess I was successful. The Sun Ultra 1 was retired and replaced by a 700 MHz Pentium III running FreeBSD.
